Poetry/Prose

Now I Finally Remembered–I Am Free

get-out-of-jail-free-card

Today I see

I risked my life

To save it

A lifelong quest

For what’s been

Between my lips

Candy for obsession

The last bar on the cell

Gleaming

Pole dancing spectacle

The past few years

People found it wild

The way my life slid

Round and round and round

Gain and loss

Trial and failure

They looked on

From the outside

(However!)

Inside’s different

Seeded garden

Watered with a love

Of daring fears

And I slowly grew

As anyone would

Who dares their devils

Cleans their attic

Stands in the dark

Of their silent basement

As fear’s wave wained

To acceptance’s light

Shining

The last bar in the cell

Holding to it

Slipping around and around

For the love of life

I began to look closer

At a reflection

Shining back

That light on metal

Movements

Automatic volition

And today

When I awoke

To meet my metal master

I would only hear

A hollow echo

As that last bar

Toppled to the floor

I stepped right out

Stretched my arms

Yawned

As if never trapped

By all the bars

Once held me back

All the figments

Divinely constructed

To demonstrate

Freedom’s means

Oh thank you

My willingness

To be a bad example

And a good person

To myself

To teach myself

With every willing desire

Every inevitable loss

All comes and goes

Except what remains

I only see that now

In everything

I am free

Standard

Leave a Reply

