Poetry/Prose

Older Than Time (another workshop soul sketch)

spanish-restaurant-waiter-small-80469

Image credit: coloribus.com “waiter”/light editing: me

Here is another soul sketch, of a perfect stranger I chose in Barcelona during a recent creativity workshop. He was a busboy/waiter at our hotel.

I am of service, and so I am invisible.

I am of service, and so I can fly.

I am of service, and so I am private.

Few people see me beyond what I do.

Anyone is invited.

No one is expected.

Continuous presence.

Checked self importance.

A dance among the collective.

I am a monk in common disguise.

*His age so young (maybe 16), his soul so old and his energy so selfless, I dared not take a picture and degrade the honor of such a rare human! Thus, the photo is not mine but it seems my subject would age into someone like the man pictured–and bullfighting is now banned in Catalunya (yaaay!) so this is how that graceful DNA might be channeled.

Standard

Leave a Reply

