Poetry/Prose

The Brink

"Planets" by Ibrahimabutouq

“Planets” by Ibrahimabutouq

She plucked Earth

Tween thumb and forefinger


A spec of dust

I turned in my bed

Eyes closed

I saw her

Or was I her?


Is that you? Who?

And if what, when?

And if how, why?

She’s no match

Nor am I

And we did


He grabbed her wrist

Earth flew from her hand

Spun off

Knocked right into Saturn


(Saw it on the news

Not a fortnight ago)


You don’t need a phone

To tell me

We’re all scared shitless

Together

Tune in and get over it


Mars lingers, annoyed


A baby crawls to Venus

Squeezes it in pudgy palm

Throws it with a swat

Knocking Jupiter


Alarm sounds

Physics’ reign

Terribly ordered

One size, small

Standard

Leave a Reply

