Poetry/Prose

Night

Oh night
I have never known you

Black wings
Whisper secrets
Enclose me
In the ease
Of your emptiness

The mind holds fast
But soon dissolves
Spilling from its jar
Everywhere

Forbidden
Denied
Turned loose
From myself
Into you

We rise
Above countless suns
Swoop below
Imagination
Subsume infinity

Radical, fleeting sites
Symbols vanish
For ever’s sake

Oh night I have never known you
Dawn waltzes in
Pushes you aside
Takes credit
Assumes

But it’s too late
I’m smitten by you
The feeling
Beyond safe

Oh night
Sweet humility
Awesome omniscience

Now that I know you
I can only entertain
The day’s illusions

Standard

Leave a Reply

